Category: Blog

Your blog category

  • Getting ready

    Yes, I am getting ready for the cruise.  I’ve gotten everything together in advance that I can.  Student schedules are made out until the end of the week next week, all of their grades are in the gradebook except those from today, software is downloaded in preparation….

     

    i’ve got my check in  bag packed.  That was hard, I wanted to take a smaller case, but I just can’t.  In fact, I had to unzip the expansion part of the bag and make it bigger.

    I cut my supplies in half, hoping that would help, but it didn’t give me enough room.  I also tossed as many boxes as I could, but all the medical stuff needs to have their orignal labels from what i understand.

     

    I’m starting to feel a bit better from the bronchitis, and finding it a bit easier to breath.  It’s no fun though.

  • Yep — I’m sick — Bronchitis

    I suspected it and it was true.  I had a horrible coughing fit while I was trying to get ready this morning, so I requested a sub, left an email with instrucutions, called in, and then when back to bed.  Slept a couple of hours and then got into the primary care’s physician office for a diagnosis and left with a prescription of antibotics.

     

    Spent the entire day just relaxing and not exerting any effort and hoping to be good enough for tomorrow.

  • Been sick

    And still sick.  When I saw the endo last week on Wednesday, he asked if I felt sick, but I didn’t really.  I spent last weekend pampering myself, and hoping I could get over, but I’m so bad today, I let a sub take care of the kids.  I’m seeing the primary care in a few minutes and will let everyone know what is going on.  It feel like bronchitis, and  I really want to get over it before my trip next week.

  • Most frequently asked question this week about Uno

    And yes, I am thrilled Uno won. 

    Everyone I know has asked my opinion on it and …

    First, he is truly the prettiest beagle I’ve ever met — though Macy’s father is right up there, however, I didn’t meet him in his prime and ready for the show ring. He’s also got the most personality I’ve ever seen in a show beagle, and I’ve even been to two national specialities.  Between those two fact, yes, I think he deserved to win, and I think he’ll deserve to be Number 1 15" beagle of all time.  He’s not yet but I’m quite sure if they show him enough, he will be.  Heck, he’s only 2 1/2.

    Second, he’s related to Macy.  Macy’s father — the winnest 13" beagle of all time — is his father’s grandfather.  So in some weird way, Macy and he is related.  Funny, because Uno is only 5 months older than Macy.  And now you know why 13" and 15" beagles are born in the same litter — they are ALL related.

    Third, his co owners are spot on good people. I think I was introduced to the Austin woman when I was showing Macy.  However, I have met the male co owners — there are two, and they have always been very kind and gracious to me.  Back in the day when I was showing U-CDX Weaver’s Peppermint Patty UD in obedience, the co-owners, the handler and the rest of the handler’s family used to come and watch Patty in obedience.  I also used to go watch the handler show when he was in Jr’s.  Patty and he both won awards at the National speciality the same year, so I know we were at least introduced then, but remember visiting ring side with all of them in the past.

    So I’m very pleased that some deserving people won, and also believe that he’s a purty little dog. FYI:  Yes, that’s how I pronounce pretty when it’s a male and it’s a beagle winning.  He’s just flat out purty.

    By the way, Macy isn’t quite a pretty but she has his attitude.

  • Traveling with Medication

    I like to portion out my medication in the 7day strips — I do the same for the dogs and that way I know if I have taken (or given) the meds for the day.  On trips, I like to use the pouches from EzDose.  The strips come open in your luggage, at least mine do, and taping them is a pain.  However, that is not exactly legal, you’re supposed to have the original labels.

     

    On the other hand, I don’t want to carry the 90 day bottles. 

     

    I wish Medco would just send out extra labels like Caremark did when we used them, but no going.

     

    So here’s my compromise.  Medco sent me extra 90 bottles for most of my meds.  The ones they didn’t send, I already had two bottles of, so just dumped the meds out of one bottle into another.  Yeah, lots are mixed now, but shouldn’t be a huge deal.

     

    However, that’s a lot of bottles to carry but I’ve got the pouches in a 1 guart ziploc bag, and then the 90 bottles and that bag in a 1 gallon ziploc bag.  It fits in the large outside pocket of my carryon fine.

     

    I also realized I hadn’t packed pen needles, so added a box to my checked baggage back.  It’s easier to deal with the unopened box, then it is with partial.  I still have two vials to use on the Symlin so am not thinking pen needles.  I also need to toss in a couple of bags of syringes for just in case, though I have a feeling in a true emeregency they would have some.

     

    So far I have the following packed:

    • Pill medication (liquids will go in last)
    • Formal wear, including bag, shoes and hair stuff
    • Exercise shoes (bought new)
    • Nightwear and brushes (bought new for the trip)
    • Extra pump batteries (in carry on)

     

    My next on the list is exercise wear.  I want to take two sets of exercise wear.  I also want to put in a laundry bag to put my used clothing in.  I believe I have a collapsible one (or two), that will fit in my checked luggage.

     

    So my plan is to have in my carryon: medication, one complete full outfit, which I will wear on the way back, extra pump, extra pump supplies in bag, and CPAP machine.  I’ll have my travel papers and regular medications in my "purse".

     

    Everything else will go in the checked bag.

     

    And I have less than two weeks to go on the trip. In fact, two weeks from today I’ll be in Mexico.

  • Sensor almost 2 weeks

    My last sensor lasted almost two weeks. I put it in two weeks ago last Thursday and it finally came out yesterday evening.    Only one problem — it wasn’t as accurate as others.  Trend was okay, but not great.

     

    I’ve got about two weeks until my trip, so I might not put another sensor in until the Tuesday before I go.  Can’t decide, but I do think giving my skin and body a rest is a good idea and cheaper.

  • Diabetes sucks

    My blood sugar hit 352 this evening.  I don’t know why.  I do know how I feel when I’m at 352.

     

    I can’t see.

    I really want the chocolate downstairs but it hurts to much to go downstairs.

    Oh, and everything hurts.

     

    And sadly, I really just want to die.

     

    I know it’s the sugar.  I just don’t know how to fix it. 

     

    The good news, Macy loves me.  I think Marcie does too, not sure about Maggie, but then she’s a mess too.  — oh, those are my beagles.

  • NHLBI – Press Release – ACCORD Study

    To be very blunt, very few of the people who have written about this study so far, are as affected by this study than I am. I’m the closest to the demographic — being Type 2.

     

    Quoted from http://public.nhlbi.nih.gov/newsroom/home/GetPressRelease.aspx?id=2551:

     

    NHLBI – Press Release


    The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) of the National Institutes of Health has stopped one treatment within a large, ongoing North American clinical trial of diabetes and cardiovascular disease 18 months early due to safety concerns after review of available data, although the study will continue.

     

    Here’s my take on it.  Right now, my blood sugar is the worst it’s been in ages and it’s been that way for months. I’m about to move up my endo’s appointment if it doesn’t get better soon.

     

    My blood sugar has been bouncing up and down and has been in the 200’s most of the day.  This affects my day to day living:

     

    My vision is blurred. I am very cranky and hard to get along with. I say things I don’t mean, or at least wouldn’t say if I was in my normal state.  I’m exhausted most of the time.  I am not sleeping well.  I am hungry all the time and crave food.

     

    So I’m trying to get back to my normal good control because I am SICK.  Not sick enough to call in sick but certainly not well –and I’ve even said that to students two or three times this week.

     

    So for me, tight control is the right thing.  If it causes a major cardio vascular event, so be it, frankly I’m hoping for the sudden, major event that kills me, since I watched my dad die a slow and often painful death.

     

    Oh, yeah, and I’m depressed too….

  • New One Touch Ultra and The Maids

    Came home to two good things — an new One Touch Ultra — just went the old one started working again, and a clean house.  It really does relieve a lot of stress and does free me up to do other things.  I cam in this afternoon to find a clean house.  All the trash collected and in the garage, beds made, bathrooms and kitchen clean.  Now instead of looking at dirty floors and thinking I should do something about it, I can focus on bigger projects.  Each time they come, the house is more efficient, and I’m happier.

     

    Even the husband seems to like it.  Hopefully we can continue it — if nothing else, we might go to once a month, but right now, every other week is often enough the house stays good, and in the right price range.

  • Didn’t go to agility

    I hate cold, and I am really glad I didn’t go.  It’s still under 40 degrees and almost 10:00.  While I’ve got good clothing for cold conditions, neither the dogs and I are happy with the temperature — okay, Marcie probably is, but Maggie isn’t.

     

    This will give me a day to relax and get some stuff done.  Like the taxes, I have to deal with the STEM money.  They told us it would be tax free when I won it, but then found out this week that it is taxable.